Board Members

Governance structure

The Board of the Durban Chamber has authority and responsibility for executive and strategic direction and decision making in terms of the MOI. The Board is comprised of six to eleven Directors, who are elected by voting members to serve for a period not exceeding two years. Officers of the Board comprise the President, Deputy President, Vice Presidents and the immediate Past President appointed by the Board. They hold office for a period of one year, commencing at the conclusion of the annual general meeting at which they were appointed.

Under the MOI, the Council of the Durban Chamber has an advisory role and consists of the President, two Directors appointed by the Board, the Chairpersons of the Chamber Business Forums, the Chief Executive Officer and 10 members who are ordinary members or life members, or representatives of ordinary members in good standing elected by voting members. Council members will hold office for a period of two years, commencing at the conclusion of the annual general meeting at which they were appointed or elected.

Board of Directors

Musa Makhunga

Nigel Ward
Deputy President

Linda Ngcobo
Vice President Finance

Gladwin Malishe
Vice President/Chair South

Mpume Mthembu
Vice President/Chair Tourism

Zeph Ndlovu
Immediate Past President

Zama Phakathi

Faisal Mkhize

Russell Curtis

Palesa Phili

Council Members

Bongumusa Sibisi
Char: Northern Area

Sthandiwe Mkhize
Chair: Central Area

Jabu Nkomo
Chair,Safety and Justice

Tholi Cibane
Chair, Dbn Port Liaison

Jacquie Bhana
Chair, Human Resources

Ntuthuko Zwane
Chair, Economic Affairs

Sharon Van Den Heever
Chair, SMME

Louise Pelser
Chair, Trade & Investment

Mpume Langa
Chair, Women in Business

Sthembiso Dube
Chair; Environmental

Dr Basil Dhanirum
Chair, Health Professional

Binesh Rajkaran
Elected Member

Chantele Schultzer
Elected Member

Prasheen Maharaj
Elected Member

Moshe Motlohi
Elected Member

Cobus du Plessis
Elected Member

Jerome Sachane
Elected Member